CPE Policy

Academic Curriculum



The Institute for Internal Controls offers two certification designations. The Certified Internal Controls Auditor (CICA) designation is available to Accounting/Auditing Professionals including IS/IT Auditors, and Educators. The Certified Controls Specialists (CCS) designation is offered to specialists in Management, Operational or Physical Security controls, Attorneys, and Educators not eligible for the CICA designation.

To receive the certification designation, a candidate must meet the educational and experience requirements as listed in the Application for Certification, complete all course work as required in the academic curriculum, and pass a comprehensive examination at the end of each course. For a limited time, the Advisory Board has approved the granting of the CICA and CCS designation without examination under the Grandfathering provision for candidates who achieve a minimum score of 70 points on the application.


 Board Extends Activation of Grandfathering Provisions
for Certification of Experienced Candidates
April 30, 2013
The Board and Nominations Committee announced an extension for the activation of the Grandfathering Provisions under the Institute's Bylaws for the granting of the designation of Certified Internal Controls Auditor (CICA) and Certified Controls Specialist (CCS). In their decision the Board and the Nominations Committee noted that TheIIC has continued to expand in new international areas and that candidates have inquired about membership and certification in TheIIC. In order to allow these candidates the same opportunities afforded existing members, it was agreed that certification under the grandfathering provisions would be extended for all domestic and international candidates until the examination process begins, continuing under the present requirements which were enhanced, effective April 1, 2010 (see details below).
It was also announced that the Certification by Examination program will begin in the fall of 2014 with the CICA exam becoming available in the domestic U.S. and will be expanded to the international market on a country by country schedule. It was also noted that independent testing centers will be considered for the examination.
Under the Grandfathering Provisions, the designation of CICA and CCS will be granted to seasoned auditors, specialists, consultants, and academics who demonstrate expertise in the design, implementation and audit of internal controls systems. In addition, the Board approved the award of the CCS designation to educators who incorporate the design, implementation and audit of internal controls in their courses.

In general, applicants who score at least 70 points in Section 5 of the application will be nominated for certification. Final approval is at the discretion of the Nominations Committee.

Beginning on April 1, 2010:
  • Maximum points awarded for education is 40, reduced from 50.
  • Candidates must have a minimum of three years experience in internal controls.
  • For the CICA designation, the candidates must have a minimum of three years experience in auditing or similar positions.
Final review by the Nominations Committee and verification of the application will be required. The nominee must agree to comply with all requirements for use of the certification designations, including Membership in The Institute, Adherence to The Institute?s Code of Ethics and Code of Professional Standards, and Continuing Professional Education.

Continuing Education (CPE) Requirements